Lacy MacAuley

Icon

a home for my pen, projects, and passions

freedom is a bicycle!

The route to freedom starts with mounting your bicycle!

The route to freedom starts with mounting your bicycle!

Freedom is a bicycle! I’ve biked this morning to the National Press Club (despite a bit of drizzle) to distribute alternative G20 Media materials for the G20 pep rally press conference, then to Dupont Circle to participate in a “No Colombia Free Trade Agreement” street theater event, then out to the National Park Service office at Hains Point to sit across the table from a police officer and National Park Service officer to discuss our permit for the G20 action next week.

I ride my bicycle for transportation every day here in Washington DC, but today I’ve felt especially close to my two-wheeled dream machine. Every pump of the petal today is a small form of resistance to corporate and commercial interests that tell you to buy cars, burn oil, and spend your last dime on comforts that you then feel you cannot live without. Each inch of pavement I have covered today has propelled me toward a better world. My bicycle is a central part of my activism, especially today!

Filed under: activism, biking, climate justice, consumerism, environmentalism, global justice, lacy's life

Leave a Reply

