Lacy MacAuley

Icon

a home for my pen, projects, and passions

wild like me

A song by Lacy MacAuley, for a dear friend
(Working on a little recording with music. To be continued!)

Photo by Ernst Haas.

There I stood, as the sun and stars forgot to shine
There I stood, in a cloud of lust and red, red wine

I asked a sacred question: Am I lost?
And what could I do? I flew.
And now here you stand in front of me.
Are you wild like me?
Are you wild and ready?
Can you fly like me?
Can you leave today?
I’ll take you out, out, out and away,
but you have to be ready for me.

Feral hearts can house a thousand things.

Just listen now to the songs that they sing.
I can shelter you and still give you wings,
and I don’t need their papers or their diamond rings. 

You can’t hold the ground if you want to fly.

Take to our wings and who knows what we’ll find.
A hundred adventures I see in your eyes
share tomorrow’s secrets with the sunrise.

A winged creature, I cannot be caged.

No bars can hold a tempest, a sage.
The darkness of night will turn to the dawn.
And when it does I’ll be traveling on.

Still you stand in front of me.

Can you shake the cold

and step into the light?
Can you shake the oppression
of the long empty night?
Come with me and be one
in the journey. 

Are you wild like me?
Are you wild and ready?
Can you fly like me?
Can you leave today?
I’ll take you out, out, out and away,
but you have to be ready for me.
Filed under: lacy's life, poems

One Response

  1. hamish wilson says:

    not just one/other, but fight and flight…

Leave a Reply

